Tag Archives: cd review

{CD Review} Black Wolves Saga -Bloody Nightmare- Song Collection “Dear Despair”

I tend to deeply enjoy Rejet’s music. Say what you want about the company, but it’s hard to deny that the music that Rejet is involved with is almost always good. I have an extensive Rejet music collection, so I’m going to start by talking about the Black Wolves Saga (BWS) Dear Despair CD.

This CD includes the opening and ending songs for BWS Bloody Nightmare. It also includes one drama track, and off vocals for all of the songs. The BWS CD’s are unique in that many of the songs for the games have official English versions, and those are also included on the CD.

Song List:

01 Dear Despair
03 TESTAMENT -English ver.-
04 希望-nameless diva ver.-
05 録り下ろしミニドラマ「花びらのお茶」
06 Dear Despair -short ver.-
07 Dear Despair -off vocal-
08 TESTAMENT -off vocal-
09 希望-nameless diva ver.- -off vocal-
Continue reading {CD Review} Black Wolves Saga -Bloody Nightmare- Song Collection “Dear Despair”

{CD Review} REASON FOR…~Kamigami no Asobi

Like the TILL THE END CD, this has one song, an instrumental, and three tracks where the voice actors talk about their characters.

Song List:

02 REASON FOR… instrumental
03 ハデス(CV:小野大輔)
04 尊(CV:豊永利行)
05 ロキ(CV:細谷佳正)
Continue reading {CD Review} REASON FOR…~Kamigami no Asobi

{CD Review} Wand of Fortune Character Song Album

Oh character songs, how much I love them. The Wand of Fortune Character Song Album includes character songs for (most of) the main guys, as well as the opening song for Wand of Fortune ~Mirai e no Prologue~.

Song List:

01 my little girl
02 魔法ノコトバ
04 Blazing Guy
05 Joker
06 誓ノ闇
07 ウラハラ協奏曲 (ラプソディ)
08 Re:ココロ
Continue reading {CD Review} Wand of Fortune Character Song Album

{CD Review} Beastmaster and Prince Character Song Album

It feels like ages since I’ve done a CD review (and look, it has). But, my CD collection has grown, so in waiting, I now have even more CD’s to talk about. The Beastmaster and Prince Character Song Album is as it sounds, character songs for all of the main characters. The CD also includes the ending song for the first game but not the opening song, which felt like an odd choice to me. The album is called “Beast Master” with a space, but then sometimes it’s called “Beastmaster” without a space, and the confusion is killing me slowly, so I’m just not going to have a space whenever I talk about the series |D.

Song List:

01 Flame of Justice
02 Silver mile the way
03 約束のReunion
04 Break the chain
05 薄紅の誓い
06 Hello again
07 eternal flower
Continue reading {CD Review} Beastmaster and Prince Character Song Album

{CD Review} Principesse E Fate

Now this CD is an experience all on its own. Literally meaning ‘Princesses and Faeries’, one you look at the lovely artwork,you will have an idea what we are getting into. This is an Italian children’s CD, and given its contents and appearance, I am assuming it it a very indie Italian children’s CD. The CD cover look like one or two steps up from in-home burning. I actually found this CD while looking for the Mermaid Melody Principesse Sirene CD. Why would it come up in the same search? Well, it does have the word ‘Principesse’ in the title, but that is not the reason. This is the reason:

Seven of the 15 songs included are covers of Mermaid Melody Principesse Sirene songs.XD
We have:
Mermaid Melody (nice job changing the name on that one <<)
Torno Dall’Oceano
Fantastica Poesia
Dolce Melodia
Stella Pressiosa
Battito D’Amore
Voce Nel Buio

Why did this not get hammered by copyrights? Surprisingly, they actually created their own instrumentals for the songs. It is significantly harder to claim copyrights when they did not use the official instrumental. However, keeping one of the songs titled ‘Mermaid Melody’ was a gutsy move.

Also, the last song is titled ‘Nel Segno Di Winx’, which is a song from Winx Club…<< I am starting to see a trend here. This raises the question, how many of these songs are actually original?XD

The inside of the booklet just has an explosion of fonts and colors listing the different songs.

As much as I joke about how odd it is that this CD exists, the singer could be a lot worse. The biggest problem with the singer is that she sounds like grown women. I know that statement sounds weird, but given how I am used to the original versions of the songs, her voice sounds odd as a replacement for Luchia or Hanon. Her voice matches Fantastica Poesia and Voce Nel Buio (though this one has a bit too may effects for my tastes). I think the CD would have been a lot better had there been more than one singer.

Should you buy?:

No, not really. I enjoy the fact that it exists, and the singer really did try her darnedest, but I cannot unhear the original versions of the songs. Maybe some of the songs are original? If so, that could be a slight incentive to buy it, but otherwise, just get the Mermaid Melody Principesse Sirene CD.

If you want to sample the songs, you can listen to excerpts on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0012JCNWQ/ref=dm_ws_sp_ps_dp

{CD Review} Code: Realize Character CD 5~Saint Germain Limited Edition

While Saint Germain is not my favorite character, I really like Hirakawa Daisuke’s voice (Laito yaaaas~) so this wound up being my favorite character song (as I expected it would be, but I’m biased lol).

Continue reading {CD Review} Code: Realize Character CD 5~Saint Germain Limited Edition